If you have been having problems with your Kindle Paperwhite, or as part of the process of preparing it for the market, you may find yourself wanting to factory reset your device. The good news is that resetting a Kindle is relatively easy. All that you need to do is the following;
- Go to the home screen on your Kindle Paperwhite
- Click on Settings
- Next, click on All Settings.
- Click on Device Options
- In Device Options, click on Reset.
You will now get the following notification asking your whether or not your really wish to reset Kindle;
This action will remove all downloaded or transferred content from your Kindle, and your settings will not be saved. You will still be able to download items from the Cloud. Do you want to reset your Kindle.
Do I lose all my content when I reset my Kindle?
That is a question that is always being asked. Does a person lose all their books when they reset their Kindle devices? The answer to this question is yes and no. Yes, you do lose everything that is on the Kindle Paperwhite that you are taking back to factory settings.
The Amazon Cloud
However, the good news is that all the content that you legitimately have on your Kindle is also backed up to the Amazon cloud. Of course, you may also legitimately have other content that you have legally downloaded from somewhere on your device. However, if this type of content has not been acquired from Amazon, it will not be backed to the Amazon Cloud.
Everything that is on the Amazon cloud under your account can be re-downloaded onto your device after the factory reset. This is actually good news and means that you will be able to reset your device without having to worry about losing your books and stuff.