Press "Enter" to skip to content

How to Enable Delete Confirmation in Windows 10

As part of my continued travails with my newly installed Windows 10, version 1803, I have just noticed that, for some reason, delete confirmation has been disabled in the upgrade. Its probably a case of some overzealous programmer at Microsoft wanting to fill up his quota of something done by tinkering with existing features. So, how do you enable delete confirmation in Windows 10.

What does delete confirmation do?

Delete confirmation is a safety feature that stops you from deleting something by simply pressing the “Delete” button on your computer. Instead you are asked whether or not you are really, really sure that you wish to send that something to the Recycle Bin.

A redundant safety feature

In reality, the delete confirmation feature in Windows acts as a redundant safety feature, for the simple reason that anything that you delete is first stored in the Recycle Bin, from where you can easily retrieve it. So, how do you enable delete confirmation in Windows 10?

Enable Delete Confirmation in Windows 10, version 1803

To enable delete confirmation in Windows 10, simply take the following steps;

  • Go to your computer’s Desktop and right click on the Recycle Bin
  • Click on “Properties.”
  • Make sure that “Display delete confirmation dialog,” is selected.

That’s it. Now you should have the annoying “do you really wish to delete this item,” question thrown your way each time you try to remove something from your computer.

Be First to Comment

    Say Something

    %d bloggers like this: